

August 4th, 2021

His Excellency Mr. Sebastián Piñera Echeñique President of the Republic of Chile Palacio de La Moneda Moneda s/n Santiago - Chile

Copies to:

Attorney General Mr. Jorge Abbot Minister of Interior Mr. Rodrigo Delgado Ministry of Justice, Subsecretary for Human Rights Mrs. Lorena Recabarren

Mr. President -

As environmentalists, human rights defenders, civil society activists and Goldman Prize winners from across the globe, we write to you to express our concern about the Chilean government's continued failure to recognize and respect the human rights of the Mapuche Indigenous people. In particular, we express our concern for the safety and security of Goldman Environmental Prize recipient, Alberto Curamil, a Mapuche Tribal Chief from Araucanía. Mr. Curamil was attacked and shot three times with buckshot ammunition by police officers on April 29, 2021 when he came to the aid of Elena Paine, a Mapuche leader, whose house and crops were burned to the ground on April 28, 2021.

It is suspected that far right-wing enforcers for wealthy landowners and industrial farming interests are responsible for the destruction of Ms. Paine's home in an attempt to drive her and her community off their land.

The attack on Mr. Curamil was brutal and racially motivated. He arrived at a protest near Ms. Paine's home with his 16 year old son and 19 year old nephew. At no time did Mr. Curamil or his son and nephew confront the police. When a tear gas canister shattered the back window of his truck, the three of them got out of the vehicle and were beaten by police who called them "pinche Mapuche" throughout the assault. Policemen shot Curamil at point blank range three times. With buckshot lodged in his back, side, arm, and back leg, Curamil was arrested along with his son and nephew, and the three of them were jailed. The following day, all three were released after being charged with disorderly conduct at a public event and breach of sanitary provisions.

We are particularly concerned for Mr. Curamil's safety because we have already suffered the loss of one of our own in 2016, when Honduran Indigenous activist Berta Cáceres was murdered by operatives of the power company DESA, Desarrollos Energéticos, for her opposition to the hydroelectric project on the Rio Gualcarque. Seven of the eight men accused of plotting Cáceres' murder, including two DESA employees, were convicted and sentenced to between 30-50 years in prison. An eighth suspect, David Roberto Castillo, President and CEO of DESA was recently convicted as the mastermind of the murder conspiracy plot. Mr. Castillo will be sentenced on August 3, 2021.

We urge, in the strongest terms possible, the following:

- 1. That immediate actions be taken to stop these aggressive and often deadly attacks on the Mapuche community.
- 2. A thorough, independent investigation into the destruction of Ms. Paine's home where she lived with her 8-year old son.
- 3. A thorough, independent investigation into the unprovoked attack on Mr. Curamil, his teenage son and nephew, by police forces.
- 4. We also ask that you do all you can to ensure that the police and the judicial system respect human rights, land rights, and the self-determination of indigenous peoples and local communities.

5. We strongly recommend that the Chilean Government include the ratification of the Escazú Agreement, in terms of a broader policy recommendation that could help address the situation faced in Chile by Indigenous Peoples as well as environmental, land and human rights defenders.

It is impossible to address these injustices and the impacts of Chilean land and water use policies without respecting the rights of the Mapuche People and other Indigenous communities. The assault on Mr. Curamil, his family and on Elena Paine and her family, are only the most recent manifestation of the government's brutal and aggressive policies toward indigenous communities. We ask the Chilean government to stop allowing corporations and wealthy individuals to destroy Chile's natural resources and violate human and land rights.

We, the undersigned, look forward to a response to this letter. The world is watching.

- 1. Sofia Gatica (Argentina, 2012)
- 2. Syeda Rizwana Hasan (Bangladesh, 2012)
- 3. Ignace Schops (Belgium, 2008)
- 4. Oscar R. Olivera Foronda (Bolivia, 2001)
- 5. Tarcísio Feitosa da Silva (Brazil, 2006)
- 6. Carlos Alberto Ricardo (Brazil, 1992)
- 7. Leng Ouch (Cambodia, 2016)
- 8. Sereivathana Tuy (Cambodia, 2010)
- 9. Francia Márquez (Colombia, 2018)
- 10. Nohra Padilla Herrera (Colombia, 2013)
- 11. Berito Kuwaru'wa Kuwaru'wa (Colombia, 1998)
- 12. Juan Mayr Maldonado (Colombia, 1993)
- 13. Jacqueline Evans (Cook Islands, 2019)
- 14. Randall Arauz (Costa Rica, 2010)
- 15. Mathieu Wadja Egnankou (Côte d'Ivoire, 1992)
- 16. Humberto Rios Labrada (Cuba, 2010)
- 17. Nemonte Nenquimo (Ecuador, 2020)
- 18. Luis Yanza (Ecuador, 2008)
- 19. Pablo Fajardo (Ecuador, 2008)
- 20. Laila Kamel (Egypt, 1994)
- 21. Francisco Antonio Pineda Gutiérrez (El Salvador, 2011)
- 22. Si. Ricardo Navarro (El Salvador, 1995)
- 23. Claire Nouvian (France, 2018)
- 24. Christine Jean (France, 1992)
- 25. Ursula Sladek (Germany, 2011)
- 26. Heffa Schuecking (Germany, 1994)
- 27. Chibeze Ezekiel (Ghana, 2020)
- 28. Rudolf Nsorwinne Amenga-Etego (Ghana, 2004)
- 29. Giorgos Catsadorakis (Greece, 2001)
- 30. Jean La Rose (Guyana, 2002)
- 31. Jean Wiener (Haiti, 2015)
- 32. Jorge Varela Márquez (Honduras, 1999)
- 33. János Vargha (Hungary, 1990)
- 34. Prafulla Samantara (India, 2017)
- 35. Ramesh Agrawal (India, 2014)
- 36. Rudi Putra (Indonesia, 2014)
- 37. Yuyun Ismawati (Indonesia, 2009)
- 38. Azzam Alwash (Iraq, 2013)
- 39. Rossano Ercolini (Italy, 2013)
- 40. Anna Giordano (Italy, 1998)
- 41. Kaisha Atakhanova (Kazakhstan, 2005)
- 42. Phyllis Omido (Kenya, 2015)
- 43. Ikal Ang'elei (Kenya, 2012)

- 44. Alfred Lahai Gbabai Brownell Sr (Liberia, 2019)
- 45. Silas Kpanan Ayoung Siakor (Liberia, 2006)
- 46. Bayarjargal Agvaantseren (Mongolia, 2019)
- 47. Feliciano dos Santos (Mozambique, 2008)
- 48. Myint Zaw (Myanmar, 2015)
- 49. Ka Hsaw Wa (Myanmar, 1999)
- 50. Catherine Wallace (New Zealand, 1991)
- 51. Ana Colovic Lesoska (North Macedonia, 2019)
- 52. Liz Chicaje (Peru, 2021)
- 53. Ruth Zenaida Buendia Mestoquiari (Peru, 2014)
- 54. Julio Cusurichi Palacios (Peru, 2007)
- 55. Maria Elena Foronda (Peru, 2003)
- 56. Von Hernandez (Philippines, 2003)
- 57. Luis Jorge Rivera-Herrera (Puerto Rico, 2016)
- 58. Alexis Massol González (Puerto Rico, 2002)
- 59. Suren Gazaryan (Russia, 2014)
- 60. Dmitry Lisitsyn (Russia, 2011)
- 61. Olga Speranskaya (Russia, 2009)
- 62. Marina Rikhvanova (Russia, 2008)
- 63. Vera Mischenko (Russia, 2000)
- 64. Sviatoslav Zabelin (Russia, 1993)
- 65. Andrew Simmons (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, 1994)
- 66. Howard Wood (Scotland, 2015)
- 67. Makoma Lekalakala (South Africa, 2018)
- 68. Desmond D'Sa (South Africa, 2014)
- 69. Sven (Bobby) Peek (South Africa, 1998)
- 70. Jabini Hugo (Suriname, 2009)
- 71. Thuli Makama (Swaziland, 2010)
- 72. Edward Loure Ole Parmelo (Tanzania, 2016)
- 73. Olya Melen-Zabramna (Ukraine, 2006)
- 74. Linda Garcia (USA, 2019)
- 75. Lee-Anne Walters (USA, 2018)
- 76. mark! Lopez (USA, 2017)
- 77. Destiny Watford (USA, 2016)
- 78. Helen Holden Slottje (USA, 2014)
- 79. Kimberly Wasserman (USA, 2013)
- 80. Hilton Kelley (USA, 2011)
- 81. Maria Gunnoe (USA, 2009)
- 82. Craig Williams (USA, 2001)
- 83. Jane Akre (USA, 2001)
- 84. Steve Wilson (USA, 2001)
- 85. Lois Marie Gibbs (USA, 1990)